Updated June 29th, 2017

Immigration Executive Order - Partial Reinstatement

On Monday, June 26th, the U.S. Supreme Court partially lifted the injunction against the Trump administration's revised travel ban. Enforcement of the revised travel ban is expected to begin Thursday, June 29th, at 5pm, Pacific Standard Time. While there is uncertainty on how the travel ban will be implemented, we have compiled answers to frequently asked questions based on publicly available information, and will update our information regularly.

If you are affected by these policies, and need any additional guidance, please contact the Lt. Governor's Office directly. We are here to support you.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Which travel ban is being reinstated?

Executive Order 13780, titled Protecting the Nation from Foreign Terrorist Entry into the United States, issued March 6, 2017, is the travel ban being partially reinstated, sometimes called the "revised" or "watered down" travel ban, because it replaced the original, more expansive travel ban issued in January. The Supreme Court has set some limitations on its re-implementation; see below.

What limitations did the U.S. Supreme Court's June 26th decision set on re-implementing the travel ban?

The Supreme Court has said that the revised travel ban that will take effect June 29th, Executive Order 13780, does not extend to "foreign nationals who have a credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States.”The Department of Homeland Security, which conducts interviews and approves people seeking visa, has said that "bona fide relationships" include parents, children, or spouses. However, grandparents, grandchildren, aunts, uncles, fiancees, cousins, and in-laws, are not considered "bona fide relationships."Customs and Border Protection, which conducts the final stage of screening for in-bound arrivals, airports, had not provided any public guidance as of Thursday morning.

What does the travel ban do?

  • 90-day block on visa issuance for foreign nationals who are citizens of Iran, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Libya, and Yemen, and living outside of the U.S.

  • 120-day suspension refugee admissions from any country

  • limits the number of refugees the U.S. will admit from 110,000 to 50,000

What countries are included in the travel ban?

In Executive Order 13780, the 6 countries included are:

  • Iran

  • Somalia

  • Sudan

  • Syria

  • Libya

  • Yemen

The original travel ban also included Iraq, but Iraq was taken off the list in the revised travel ban.

Will visas be revoked?

According to Homeland Security, visas will not be "revoked solely based on this executive order."

Who will be exempt from the revised travel ban?

  • US citizens

  • Legal permanent residents (green card holders)

  • Current visa holders

  • non-US citizens who are dual nationals from one of the restricted countries

  • "case by case" exemptions

  • "foreign nationals who have a credible claim of a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the United States,” per the Supreme Court's June 26 decision