Legislative Committee on Economic Development and International Relations

About the committee

The Legislative Committee on Economic Development and International Relations, or LCEDIR, is a bipartisan, bicameral committee of the legislature which is authorized under state law (Title 43.15.060 RCW) to study and review economic development issues. The committee’s duties include special emphasis on international trade, tourism, investment and industrial development, and assisting the legislature in developing a comprehensive and consistent economic development policy. The lieutenant governor serves as the committee’s chair.

2015 Meeting Schedule

Date and time Topic Meeting location
Postponed due to conflict with special session The State of the Space Industry in Washington State  Museum of Flight – Seattle

2014 Meetings and Summary Report

The LCEDIR conducted two meetings in 2014, the first in Puyallup and the second in Republic. Follow the links below to the agendas and locations where the work sessions can be viewed online.

The Office of Lt. Governor has also prepared a summary report.

Download Summary Report.

Date and time Topic Meeting location
July 29, 9 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Washington’s Natural Resources Economy – Farming and Floriculture in Western Washington  Puyallup City Hall
Oct. 9, 9 a.m. to 12 p.m. The Economic Impact of Company Closures on Rural Communities Republic

Committee membership 

The committee consists of six Senators and six Representatives, with three Democratic members and three Republican members appointed from each legislative body.

Committee members:
Lt. Governor Brad Owen, chair

BeckerSenator Randi Becker DeBoltRepresentative Richard DeBolt
Sen. Karen Fraser, D-22Senator Karen Fraser MorrisRepresentative Jeff Morris
HatfieldSenator Brian Hatfield MoscosoRepresentative Luis Moscoso
HasegawaSenator Bob Hasegawa RyuRepresentative Cindy Ryu
HewittSenator Mike Hewitt SmithRepresentative Norma Smith
KingSenator Curtis King WilcoxRepresentative J.T. Wilcox