Flags half-staff for slide victims>>

Lt. Governor Owen joined Governor Jay Inslee at a flag-lowering ceremony at the state Capitol on April 15. The governor has directed state offices to lower flags to half-staff in respect to those lost in the SR530 mudslide.

Time for Tulips!>>

Skagit Valley Tulip Ambassadors Sean Cowan and Lily-Rose Day stopped by the Office of Lt. Governor as part of a tour to promote the Skagit Valley Tulip Festival, which is in full-swing right now in Skagit County.

Recognizing outstanding achievement>>

Lt. Governor Owen presents Nicklaus Madison, a 26-year-old student at Renton Technical College, with Washington State’s New Century Scholar award during a ceremony honoring All-Washington Academy Team Scholars on March 27. The lieutenant governor gave the keynote speech at the event at South Puget Sound Community College.

Seahawks honored as Washingtonians of the Year

Lt. Governor Owen joined with the Association of Washington Generals on April 12 to present the Seattle Seahawks with the AWG Washingtonian of the Year award.

Kindness from the Chinese community >>

Several Chinese family associations in Seattle raised $16,888 for the United Way of Snohomish County and Cascade Valley Hospital in Darrington for SR530 landslide relief efforts. Photo by Sue Misao/Northwest Asian Weekly


Lieutenant governor expresses support for state’s community and technical college system

An opinion piece by Lt. Governor Owen expressing his support for the state’s community and technical college system was published in The Olympian on April 16. The piece is based on remarks

TVW nominated for six EMMY awards

TVW – Washington’s public affairs network that provides gavel-to-gavel coverage of the Legislature - has been nominated for six EMMY® Awards by the Northwest Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences

Flags at half-staff for SR 530 slide victims

Lt. Governor Brad Owen joined Gov. Jay Inslee and Secretary of State Kim Wyman for a short flag-lowering ceremony at noon in Olympia today in memory of the victims of the SR 530

Seattle Seahawks honored as “Washingtonians of the Year”

The 2014 Super Bowl-winning Seattle Seahawks were honored as 2013 “Washingtonians of the Year” by the Association of Washington Generals at an April 12 event at the Virginia Mason Athletic Center in Renton. But the award has